Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

Applications open for Professional Development Awards

Media Published Monday 15 February 2021
Professional Development Awards 2021

Applications are now open for 2021 APRA Professional Development Awards.

Previous winners include Gotye, Briggs, Gordi, Caitlin Yeo, Gordi, Ngaiire and more.

New funding opportunities include categories of Hip Hop/Rap/Soul/RnB, Music Theatre/Stage and Gaming included with Film and Television.

We are proud to announce the return of the APRA Professional Development Awards (PDAs), with applications now open for the career-boosting initiative that comes with a $10,000 cash prize to support professional endeavours.

Nine awards will be given out across a range of musical genres, with Hip Hop/Rap/Soul/RnB now a standalone category and the debut of the Music Theatre/Stage category offering funding for workshops. All winners receive musical gear and equipment courtesy of Australis Music.

Applications are also open for the Smugglers of Light Foundation Music and Media Award, to provide an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander music or media practitioner with a grant of $12,000 as well as a prize from Australis Music. The award is supported and assessed by the Smugglers of Light Foundation, set up in memory of Eli Westlake.

Applications are now open to emerging songwriters and composers across the following categories:

  • Popular Contemporary - (2 Awards) - includes Pop, Rock, Alternative, Blues, Roots, Folk, Metal, Christian and Children's
  • Country/Americana
  • Jazz & Improvised Music
  • Classical & Experimental
  • Dance/Electronic
  • Film and Television/Gaming
  • Hip Hop/Rap/Soul/RnB
  • Music Theatre/Stage - workshop funding only
  • Smugglers of Light Foundation Music and Media Award, awarded to an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander music or media practitioner

These awards have helped further the musical success stories of Gotye, Morgan Evans, Caitlin Yeo, Julia Jacklin, Gordi, Ecca Vandal, Andrea Keller, Briggs, Ngaiire, Deline Briscoe and many more.

Applications for the awards close at 5:00 pm AEDT Thursday 25 March 2021