Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

APRA Professional Development Awards open for 2022

Media Published Wednesday 6 October 2021

Game changing opportunity for songwriters & composers.

Applications now open for 2022 APRA Professional Development Awards!

APRA AMCOS is proud to announce the 2022 APRA Professional Development Awards, a career boosting initiative which has helped further the musical success stories of Gotye, Ecca Vandal, Eric Avery, Gordi, Morgan Evans, Beatrice Lewis, Michael Yezerski, and many more.

Now held annually, the Professional Development Awards aim to create serious opportunities for emerging songwriters and composers. In 2022, ten individual winners will each take home $10,000 cash and a prize courtesy of Australis Music.

APRA AMCOS is also pleased to partner with Smugglers of Light Foundation in presenting the Music and Media Award to an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander music or media practitioner. This award was established in memory of Eli Westlake.

Applications are now open to emerging songwriters and composers across the following categories:

  • Popular Contemporary - (2 Awards) includes Pop, Rock, Alternative, Blues, Roots, Folk, Metal, Christian and Children's
  • Country/Americana
  • Jazz & Improvised Music
  • Classical & Experimental
  • Dance/Electronic
  • Film & Television/Gaming
  • Hip Hop/Rap/Soul/RnB
  • Music Theatre/Stage - workshop funding only
  • Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Music and Media Award supported by Smugglers of Light

Applications for the awards close at 5pm AEDT Thursday 18 November 2021
Applications for the Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Music and Media Award close at 5pm AEDT Friday 3 December 2021

For more information and to apply, head to

2022 APRA Professional Development Awards judges include Alister Spence, Ben Nicholson, Brendan Gallagher, Brooke McClymont, Chelsea Wilson, Clare Bowditch, Craig Christie, Craig Hawker, Dan Biddle, Dave Ruby Howe, Erkki Veltheim, Erol Yurdagul, Franc Tetaz, Gabby Colombi, Jenny Morris, Joel Ma, John Ferris, Julia Bald, Karen Hamilton, Lance Ferguson, Marianna Annas, Michelle Guthrie, Neil Gooding, Nick Hedger, Nina Las Vegas, Paul Healy, Petrina Convey, Pia Del Mastro, Reg Harris, Rishin Singh, Vanessa Tomlinson, Yantra de Vilder, Yve Blake, and more to be announced.