Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

Vote for APRA Song of the Year - vote to win cash

Media Published Tuesday 23 November 2021
Peer-Voted APRA Song of the Year 2022

Got a minute? It won't take long at all to log in and vote for the Peer-Voted APRA Song of the Year.

When you vote, you will automatically be entered into the draw to win one of three cash prizes, courtesy of Marsh.

  • $3,000 Grand Prize
  • $1,000 Runner-up
  • $1,000 Runner-up

Voting is easier than ever in the Writer Portal - the hardest part will be picking your favourite song of the last 12 months.

The APRA Song of the Year is Australian music's biggest peer-voted award, voted for songwriters by songwriters, composers and music publisher members.

APRA members chose 'Gadigal Land' as the 2021 Peer-Voted APRA Song of the Year. Written by Rob Hirst, Gadigal poet Joel Davison and Bunna Lawrie, the powerful song was Midnight Oil’s first single in 17 years, and part of The Makarrata Project, a themed mini album of collaborations with Indigenous artists.

At the 2020 virtual APRA Music Awards Tones And I accepted the award for her record-breaking smash 'Dance Monkey.'

The prestigious list of previous honourees also includes Amy Shark, Paul Kelly and Billy Miller, D.D Dumbo, Kevin Parker, Vance Joy, Sia, Gotye, Kasey Chambers, Angus & Julia Stone and, of course, Yothu Yindi, who were the first to take home the honour back in 1991 for 'Treaty'.

Voting is open until 2 February 2022. A shortlist of contenders will be announced shortly after closing.

With thanks to sponsors Marsh and The Brag Media.

Terms and Conditions