Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

Art Music Awards 2023 call for nominations

Media Published Wednesday 22 February 2023

Nominations are now open for the 2023 edition of the Art Music Awards.

Members are encouraged to nominate their peers for their achievements, across a range of categories and genres.

Submissions close 15 March 2022, 5pm AEDT.

APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre (AMC) are calling on members to nominate their peers across a range of categories for the 2023 Art Music Awards.

Now marking its 21st year, the Art Music Awards are presented annually to celebrate the music, people, and organisations that fuel Australia’s dynamic and diverse art music landscape. The Awards recognise outstanding achievement in the composition, performance, education, and presentation of Australian art music, traversing the genres of contemporary classical music, jazz, improvised music, experimental music, and sound art.

Each year, the Awards process begins with members submitting an online nomination in support of an individual or an organisation who have demonstrated outstanding achievements. Works, performances, events, and other activities from the past year are eligible for nomination. Since 2021, the presentation of music that have embraced digital technologies (such as digital performance, broadcast, or commercial release) are also eligible for nomination.

The Award categories include the Award for Excellence in Music Education and Award for Excellence in a Regional Area, highlighting the importance of art music across Australian life. Meanwhile, the Luminary Awards acknowledge those who have made significant contributions to Australian art music over a sustained length of time.

In 2022, composer May Lyon submitted a winning nomination. This year, May encourages others to celebrate the contributions of the art music community:

“As a community we have all come from a place of passion, plus years of hard work, resulting in many highs and lows. I think it's important to nominate and celebrate our art music colleagues, to recognise the commitment, time, and skills the various aspects of our professions require. On top of that, many of the community give a lot back, and those valuable contributions should be applauded.”

AMC CEO Catherine Haridy says, “We are energised by the immense creativity of our art music community over this past year through the sheer volume of new works and performances we’ve seen around the country and globally. It’s crucial to nominate works so we can shine a light on our peers, collaborators, and musical role models.”.

The 2023 Art Music Awards will be taking place at Carriageworks, Gadigal land on Tuesday 15 August 2023.

The deadline for nominations is Wednesday 15 March 5:00pm AEDT.

For more details, please consult the Rules of Nomination and Guidelines.

Art Music Awards 2023 - Categories

Work of the Year: Choral
Work of the Year: Chamber Music
Work of the Year: Large Ensemble
Work of the Year: Dramatic
Work of the Year: Electroacoustic / Sound Art
Work of the Year: Jazz

Performance of the Year: Notated Composition
Performance of the Year: Jazz / Improvised Music
Award for Excellence in Music Education
Award for Excellence in a Regional Area
Award for Excellence in Experimental Practice

Luminary Awards – National (Individual)
Luminary Awards – National (Organisation)
Luminary Awards – State/Territory Awards*
*Nominate a person/organisation in your state or territory of residence.


STEP 1: To nominate you need to be either:

  • A member of APRA AMCOS (composer, author, songwriter or publisher member)
  • A financial member of the Australian Music Centre (you can join here)

STEP 2: Provide essential information (category, name of nominee, etc.)

STEP 3: Write a short paragraph on why you’re nominating


Please note that you cannot self-nominate in any category.