Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

First steps towards cultural change: meeting outcomes

Story Published Tuesday 25 May 2021

Yesterday a group of people from the Australian Music Industry came together for an initial conversation around how we start the process to drive cultural change, with an immediate focus on sexual harm, harassment and systemic discrimination in Australian Music.

The gathering consisted of a range of industry experts with a mix of professional and lived experience and was facilitated by independent consultants.

A temporary working group of volunteers was formed to drive a wider consultation process:

  • Deena Lynch, Jaguar Jonze
  • Emily Collins, MusicNSW
  • Julia Robinson, Australian Festivals Association
  • Larissa Ryan, Hutch Collective
  • Sarah Woolcott, BMG Rights Management (Australia)
  • Sophie Paterson, Sony Music Australia
  • Mardi Caught, The Annex

The immediate actions for the volunteer temporary working group are to;

  • Engage independent expert(s) and facilitators,
  • Establish a national consultation strategy,
  • Share the recommendations and rollout process, and
  • Undertake these initial steps within a 6-week timeframe.

This temporary working group has been brought together to drive wider research and meaningful industry discussions, alongside expert guidance. The consultation process will inform any further actions and underpin any future governance.

For further updates from the temporary working group, sign up to this mailing list.

There is a lot of work to be done and it requires an industry-wide commitment.

The attendees at Monday’s meeting in Sydney were:

  • Annabelle Herd, ARIA/PPCA
  • Anne Jacobs, Support Act
  • Arwen Hunt, Universal Publishing Australia
  • Briese Abbott, Kobalt
  • Cerissa Grant, Support Act
  • Cath Haridy, Association of Artist Managers
  • Dean Ormstom, APRA AMCOS
  • Debbie Teale
  • Deena Lynch, Jaguar Jonze
  • Emily Collins, MusicNSW
  • Gillian Dunn, APRA AMCOS
  • Gladys Namokoyi, Kween G
  • Julia Robinson, Australian Festivals Association
  • Karen Don, Universal Music Australia
  • Kathy McCabe, NewsCorp
  • Kirti Jacobs, APRA AMCOS
  • Larissa Ryan, Hutch Collective
  • Leah Flanagan, NATSIMO (National Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Music Office)
  • Libby Blakey, Warner Music Australia
  • Linda Bosidis, Mushroom Music Publishing
  • LJ Loch, Alpha Consulting
  • Lynne Small, ARIA/PPCA
  • Maree Hamblion, Sony ATV
  • Mardi Caught, The Annex
  • Maria Amato, Australian Independent Record Labels Association
  • Marianna Annas, Universal Publishing Australia
  • Meg Williams, A New Approach
  • Milly Petriella, APRA AMCOS
  • Natalie Waller, ABC Music
  • Poppy Reid, The Industry Observer/The Brag
  • Rachel Kelly, Downtown Publishing
  • Sarah Woolcott, BMG Rights Management (Australia)
  • Sophie McArthur, Sony Music Australia
  • Sophie Paterson, Sony Music Australia
  • Susan Heymann, Chugg Entertainment

If you or someone you know needs support, there is help available:

Support Act Helpline: 1800 959 500

1800RESPECT: 1800 737 732

Lifeline Hotline: 13 11 14 or text their helpline on 0477 13 11 14

SANE 1800 187 263