Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

Meet the 31 Aussies & Kiwis involved in a record 37 Grammy nominations this year

Media Published Monday 10 December 2018
Sarah Aarons, Jon Hume, Sia and Kevin Parker are among the Aussies & Kiwis nominated for Grammy’s this year

31 Aussie and Kiwi members are invited in Grammy nominations for the 2019 awards

The 37 nominations cover categories including Song of the Year, Dance, Country, Christian and Compilation Soundtracks

The Grammys take place on Sunday 10 February 2019 in LA

The nominations across 84 categories of the 61st GRAMMY Awards were announced in Los Angeles in the wee hours of Saturday morning local time, and once again there's an abundance of Australian and New Zealand talent in there to celebrate.

Gather 'round and take a closer look at the Australasian songwriters, producers and artists who are nominated and/or have contributed to this year's nominated works.

The nominees

She prefers behind-the-scenes but she deserves the kudos. Melbourne-native and SongHubs alum Sarah Aarons is a nominee for the coveted Song of the Year for her collaborative superpowers on the Zedd, Maren Morris and Grey Billboard chart-topper The Middle.

She won Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year back in April at this year's APRA Music Awards, was named to Variety's 2018 uber-powerful 'hitmaker' list, has an extensive list of credits including songs with Lykke Li, The Rubens, Demi Lovato, Khalid and more. The Middle is also in the running for Record of the Year and Best Pop Duo/Group Performance.

Sarah and her collaborators told The New York Times how The Middle came to life in a Diary of a Song feature.

Acclaimed composer, songwriter and vocalist Lisa Gerrard (also of Dead Can Dance) has been nominated for Best New Age Album for Hiraeth, her stunning release with percussionist David Kuckhemann. The title is a Welsh word translating to "longing for the place where your spirit lives."

Nashville-based producer, songwriter and drummer Paul Mabury picks up a nomination for Best Contemporary Christian Music Performance/Song for his songwriting contribution to Lauren Daigle's You Say, which spent a massive 20 weeks at #1 on the Billboard Hot Christian Songs chart. The album which the song is from is nominated for Best Contemporary Christian Music Album.

'The Middle': Watch How a Pop Hit Is Made

Lisa Gerrard and David Kuckhermann - Rite of Passage (from the album "Hiraeth")

Lauren Daigle - You Say

LA-via-Melbourne Chris 'TEK' O'Ryan is one of music's most in-demand producer/engineers. He is nominated in the category Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical for his work on the Chromeo album Head Over Heels, an LP stacked with all-star contributions.

Filmmaker and musician Alan Hicks is nominated for Best Music Film for Netflix's Quincy, the biographical film about legendary producer Quincy Jones, which Hicks co-directed with Quincy's daughter Rashida Jones.

Songwriter and SIA collaborator Jasper Leak served as the film's music supervisor/music consultant. Hicks and Quincy Jones discussed the making of the film recently on LA's KCRW program The Business.

Australian brothers and for KING & COUNTRY bandmates Joel and Luke Smallbone are nominees for Best Contemporary Christian Music Song/Performance for joy.

A track that started with a fateful performance at Coachella in 2017, has gone on to pick up Best Dance Recording for DJ and producer Fisher and his banger Losing It, currently at #4 on Billboard's Dance Club Songs chart.

And, a round of applause for these two superstars: Keith Urban, nominated for Best Country Solo Performance for Parallel Line and song-and-dance man Hugh Jackman of The Greatest Showman, nominated for Best Compilation Soundtrack For Visual Media.

Chromeo - Don't Sleep (feat. French Montana and Stefflon Don)

Quincy film trailer

The Greatest Showman - The Greatest Show

Contributions to the nominees

Our research department delved into all the categories to see where Australian and New Zealanders made a contribution to a nominated work. It really does take a village.

In the Best Remixed Recording category, SIA sings the vocals and is a songwriter on the Diplo/Labrinth/SIA track Audio, which garnered a nomination for DJ/producer CID. SIA is also a songwriter on Fallout Boy's Best Rock Album nominated LP Mania, with a credit on the song Champion.

Songwriter Stu Crichton just keeps building on one of the best CVs in the biz. He figures into nominations for Toni Braxton (Best R&B Album), Backstreet Boys (Best Pop Duo/Group Performance for Don't Go Breaking My Heart) and Kygo (feat. Justin Jesso) (Best Remixed Recording for Stargazing - Kaskade Remix).

Producer and songwriter Jon Hume played a key role with credits on three songs from the duo Sofi Tukker's breakthrough Treehouse, a nominee for Best Electronic/Dance Album. Aussie electro sister duo Nervo are also songwriters on a track.

Camila Cabello's Best Pop Vocal Album Camila features the talents of Twice As Nice songwriting/production crew members Lewis Hughes, Nick Audino, and Te Whiti Warbrick on the song In The Dark.

Royce Doherty also worked with Toni Braxton on the songs Sorry and Deadwood on her Cigarettes & Sex Best R&B Album nominee.

Sarah Hopkins is a co-writer on Björk's otherworldly album Utopia, with the feature of her harmonic whirlies on Features Creatures. Utopia is nominated for Best Alternative Music Album.

Mia Fieldes is a songwriter on two nominated albums in the Best Contemporary Christian Music Album category: Jesus Culture's Living With a Fire and Zach Williams' Survivor - Live From Harding Prison.

Tame Impala's Kevin Parker is a songwriter and producer on the Travis Scott song Skeletons, from the blockbuster Best Rap Album nominee Astroworld. It was a collab that lit up the internet.

Nashville hitmaker Lindsay Rimes is a songwriter on the track End of the World, from Kelsea Ballerini's Best Country Album nominee Unapologetically. Just one of many things Mr. Rimes had a hand in this year.

Always influencing, that's Hiatus Kaiyote. The Carters (as in Jay-Z and Beyoncé, no less) sampled their work on the song 713, on their Everything Is Love album, nominated for Best Urban Contemporary Album.

And, where there is reggae there are always standout Kiwis. Justin James and Jonathan Harding are songwriters on the Protoje album A Matter of Time, which is nominated for Best Reggae Album.

Our last connect-the-dots mention goes to Maaike Lebbing (aka Kito), originally from Denmark, WA, who co-wrote and co-produced Best New Artist nominee Jorja Smith's single The One.

The Grammys took place on Sunday 10 February 2019 in LA.

Sofi Tukker - Benadryl

Camilla Cabello - In The Dark

The Carters - 713