Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

Pioneering electronic producer Flume joins APRA AMCOS’ The 1,000,000,000 List

Media Published Tuesday 8 October 2019
Flume receiving his 1,000,000,000 List award from APRA AMCOS CEO Dean Ormston

Never Be Like You’ was Flume’s first #1 on the ARIA singles chart, and the lead single from his second album, Skin

Flume accepted the award from APRA AMCOS CEO Dean Ormston after playing the Listen Out Festival in Sydney

This is the third song to be added to the 1,000,000,000 List, after ‘Friends’ (Nat Dunn) & Be Alright (Dean Lewis)

Harley Streten, known professionally as Flume, received his place on APRA AMCOS’ The 1,000,000,000 List yesterday at Manly beach, in an award presentation by the organisation’s Chief Executive, Dean Ormston.

A position on The 1,000,000,000 List is awarded to APRA AMCOS members who have achieved extraordinary success by accumulating over one billion streams globally for an original song.

In racking up more than a billion streams since its release in January 2016, ‘Never Be Like You’ became Harley’s first #1 on the ARIA Singles Chart; reached #2 in New Zealand, and charted in Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Ireland, Latvia, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, the UK and the United States.

As the first single from Harley’s second album, Skin, the song achieved sales of 7 x platinum in Australia; double platinum in Canada, New Zealand and the United States; platinum in Belgium and France; and gold in Denmark, Germany and Italy.

At the 2017 APRA Music Awards, ‘Never Be Like You’ was awarded Dance Work of the Year and Most Performed Australian Work. Harley also took home the coveted Songwriter of the Year award.

The song received a Best Dance Recording GRAMMY nomination, and scored the top spot in triple j’s Hottest 100 of 2016. Rolling Stone named ‘Never Be Like You’ one of the best 30 songs of the first half of 2016. Featuring Canadian chanteuse Kai’s sumptuous vocals, ‘Never Be Like You’ remixes by Disclosure, Wave Racer, Teengirl Fantasy and Martin Solveig bolstered the song’s streaming figures.

In presenting the award to Harley, Dean Ormston said, “Flume’s songwriting and production has had a huge influence on how music sounds, and his success has opened the doors for his fellow Australian music creators.

Through his songs, he has connected to fans all over the world and we congratulate Harley on achieving a position on The 1,000,000,000 List.”

Between playing the Listen Out Festival and promoting his new single ‘Rushing Back’, featuring Vera Blue, Harley took time out from a busy schedule to accept his award, saying:

As publishers of ‘Never Be Like You’ Future Classic and Kobalt Music Group were recognised for their role in helping to take the song to one billion streams and beyond.

"There are many great achievements and awards that a songwriter and artist could receive but landing a place in The 1,000,000,000 List with APRA AMCOS is right up there at the top. ‘Never Be Like You’ has always been close to my heart and Kobalt is honoured to represent Flume and be a part of Harley's global success together with Nathan, Chad, Mitch and the team at Future Classic," said Kobalt Music Group APAC’s Managing Director, Simon Moor.

Having worked with Harley since his debut, Future Classic Founder/CEO Nathan McLay said "'Never Be Like You' was one of the defining songs to crossover electronic music into the mainstream. It marked a progression from dance music that preceded it, a bolt from the blue marrying great melody and songwriting with unique, forward thinking production to create a sublime, emotionally resonant and uplifting anthem. We’re delighted for Harley and honoured to have a song on APRA AMCOS' The 1,000,000,000 List."

Harley is the third songwriter to be acknowledged with a song on The 1,000,000,000 List, joining Nat Dunn for MARSHMELLO’s ‘Friends’ and Dean Lewis for ‘Be Alright’.

The 1,000,000,000 List takes into account streaming numbers from major services Spotify, Apple Music and YouTube, and is the first award of its kind to recognise a songwriter’s achievement.

Flume - Never Be Like You feat. Kai