Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

Sarah Aarons' co-write 'Stay' lands on The 1,000,000,000 List

Media Published Monday 16 March 2020
Sony/ATV Music Publishing MD Damian Trotter and Sarah Aarons accepting their 1,000,000,000 awards at the Global APRA Music Awards in Los Angeles (photo by Nick Demarais).

Sarah Aarons joins a long list of songwriters on The 1,000,000,000 List.

Her track ‘Stay’, performed by Zedd and Alessia Cara, sat at #1 on the Billboard charts for 33 weeks.

She's a one-in-a-billion songwriter, and Sarah Aarons was honoured at the Global APRA Music Awards LA (26 February) with a rightful place on The 1,000,000,000 List for co-writing the Zedd and Alessia Cara hit 'Stay' and its milestone streaming achievement.

Released in February 2017, ‘Stay’ marked Sarah's international breakthrough, co-written with Linus Wiklund, Anders Froen, Alessia Caracciolo, Anton Zaslavski and Jonnali Parmenius. ‘Stay’ hit #1 on the Australian Dance chart and Billboard's Mainstream Top 40, broke the top ten with a #7 spot on the Billboard Hot 100 and had a record-breaking 33-week run at #1 on Billboard’s Hot Dance/Electronic Chart.

Receiving her honour at the awards night, Sarah thanked APRA AMCOS, when she reminisced,“The first songwriter award I ever won at 11 was at an APRA event where I won a piano and a guitar and without it, who knows where I’d be?”

Sony/ATV Music Publishing Australia's Damian Trotter was in LA to celebrate Sarah at the awards and accept the publisher's award.

The 1,000,000,000 List takes into account streaming numbers from major services Spotify, Apple Music and YouTube. It is the first award of its kind to recognise a songwriter’s achievement.

Zedd, Alessia Cara - Stay