Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

The Wiggles to receive Ted Albert Award

Media Published Thursday 21 April 2022
The Wiggles are receiving the Ted Albert Award for outstanding services to Australian music

The Wiggles are the 2022 recipients of the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Service to Australian Music

The APRA Music Awards are on Tuesday 3 May at Melbourne Town Hall, with a fantastic lineup of performers including Chris Cheney, Dallas Woods, Tones & I, the Hard-Ons, and more

Lasting Lover, performed by Sigala & James Arthur, is the Most Performed International Work

APRA AMCOS is delighted to announce that The Wiggles are the 2022 recipients of the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music. The original blue, red, yellow and purple clad Anthony Field, Murray Cook, Greg Page and Jeff Fatt will receive their honour at the APRA Music Awards on Tuesday 3 May at Melbourne Town Hall.

For three decades, The Wiggles, the world's most popular children’s entertainment group have educated, entertained and enriched the lives of millions of pre-schoolers (and their parents) all over the globe. Today, generations of fans that grew up watching are sharing their love of The Wiggles with their own children. Having sold over 30 million albums and DVDs, 8 million books globally, as well as accumulating over one billion music streams and 2 billion views on YouTube, The Wiggles continue to dominate the preschool entertainment scene. Their live shows annually sell out to audiences on three separate continents, and their videos are seen in over 190 countries around the world. Highlights this year alone so far include a number one album on the ARIA charts for ReWiggled and claiming the #1 spot in the triple J Hottest 100 for their wiggly rendition of Tame Impala’s Elephant.

Anthony Field said, "On behalf of everyone who's worked with The Wiggles over the past 31 years, I want to thank APRA for honouring us with the Ted Albert Award. We have always been driven by genuine love and passion for music, and this recognition means so much to us. Seeing our names alongside Aussie greats, including The Seekers, Joy McKean and the incredible Helen Reddy is so wonderful.

A message from our 2022 Ted Albert recipients: The Wiggles, Murray Cook and Jeff Fatt

Musical Director François Tétaz
has assembled a stellar lineup of performers who will hit the awards stage. Fresh from the release of his debut solo single California is The Living End legend Chris Cheney who will be joined by Indigenous rapper, lyricist, recording artist and MC Dallas Woods. Australia's punk legends the Hard-Ons will kick out the jams on the APRA stage for the first time with their new singer Tim Rogers. Also hitting the stage is Jack Ladder & The Dreamlanders - the baritone singer and his band are currently touring the nation off the back of sixth album Hijack!. Performing at the awards for the first time is internationally renowned vocalist Deline Briscoe. With a career spanning over two decades, Deline’s most recent release is her stunning solo debut album Wawu. Deline will be joined by songwriter Didirri, who will bring his on-stage charisma to proceedings. Previous APRA Music Award winner and 2022 nominee Tones And I will make a very special appearance on the back of new music including current single Eyes Don’t Lie. Melbourne three-piece Telenova, fronted by the alluring vocals of multi-disciplined creative Angeline Armstrong, will team up with Mindy Meng Wang, a versatile Chinese/Australian Composer and world leading contemporary Guzheng Performing Artist. Finally, APRA introduces independent singer, songwriter and producer grentperez who will bring his laidback chill with a dash of soul.

Joining the APRA Music Awards as co-host is Eddie Perfect, one of Australia’s most diverse, respected and prolific writer/composer/performers. In 2021, Eddie toured his latest solo show Introspective chronicling his journey to Broadway. This year he can be seen starring as Franklin Hart Jnr in 9to5 The Musical at Capitol Theatre. Welcome to the show Eddie!

Lasting Lover, written by James Arthur, Bruce Fielder, Lewis Capaldi, Luke Fitton, Benjamin Goldwasser, Jarl Hasselquist, Corey Sanders and Andrew Vanwyngarden is the Most Performed International Work. The song is performed by British DJ Sigala and singer/songwriter James Arthur and samples Time to Pretend by indie band MGMT.

The APRA Licensee of the Year award this year goes to two worthy recipients for their good music citizenship. Great Big Events were one of the first licensees to take out the OneMusic Sports blanket licence, demonstrating their understanding of the importance of music licensing and the value music adds to events. TAFE Queensland also receive acknowledgement for working hard to ensure their use of APRA member music is always appropriately licensed.

The 2022 APRA Music Awards nominees playlists can be streamed on Spotify, Apple Music and YouTube Music.