Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

VASSY joins The 1,000,000,000 List for David Guetta and Showtek collaboration 'Bad'

Media Published Thursday 3 September 2020
VASSY showing off her 1,000,000,000 List trophy to celebrate her place on the list

Bad was released by David Guetta & Showtek in 2014 and featured VASSY on vocals

The song is certified Gold in the US, Double Platinum in Australia and platinum in many other countries worldwide

The 1,000,000,000 List takes into account streaming numbers from major services Spotify, Apple Music and YouTube.

Singer, songwriter and producer VASSY has officially joined The 1,000,000,000 List with her David Guetta and Showtek collaboration ‘Bad’ reaching the streaming milestone.

The Darwin-raised, LA-based VASSY was honoured for the songwriting achievement, which is given to our members in recognition of more than one billion streams for a song.

‘Bad’ was released in April 2014 by renowned French producer David Guetta and Dutch duo Showtek, featuring VASSY on vocals. The song reached #1 on the ARIA Dance chart, placed #11 on the year end chart, reached #5 on the ARIA Singles chart and is accredited Double Platinum. It went to #1 in Norway, Finland and South Korea, and peaked at #11 on Billboard's Hot Dance/Electronic Songs chart. In 2015, 'Bad' was certified Gold in the US and has gone on to collect a dozen more platinum awards worldwide. VASSY took home a prestigious International Dance Music Award (IDMA) for “Best Featured Vocalist Performance."

VASSY, Guetta and Showtek (Wouter & Sjoerd Janssen) are credited co-writers along with top internationals Sulta & Shepard (Ossama Al Sarraf & Ned Shepard), Manian (Manuel Reuter), Giorgio Tuinfort and Nick Turpin.

VASSY was a recipient of the APRA Professional Development Award in 2004 in the popular contemporary category.

“It was so exciting to receive this award for being on the The 1,000,000,000 List. It's such an honour considering that my career first started with being acknowledged by APRA AMCOS in Australia before I left for the US. And, now being acknowledged once again for one of my biggest records that I wrote and performed, which went number 1 in many countries around the world, putting me on the map globally as an Australian artist, singer and songwriter," VASSY said upon delivery of the award to her LA home.

"A huge congrats to VASSY from the whole BMG team both here and around the world. It’s great to see her hit such a milestone and join this exclusive streaming billionaire's club with this incredible tune,” said Heath Johns, Managing Director, BMG Australia and New Zealand.

“Huge congratulations to VASSY on her billion streams for ‘Bad,’ one of the many hit songs that she has been a major collaborator on. Her incredible songwriting talent has taken her to the top of the charts worldwide, and we couldn't be more proud of all that she has accomplished both at home in Australia and overseas,” said APRA AMCOS CEO Dean Ormston.

VASSY is no stranger to the top of the charts. She has had six #1s on Billboard's Dance Club Songs chart including 'We Are Young,' Lost' with Afrojack, 'Concrete Heart' with Disco Fries, and 'Nothing to Lose,' co-produced with Tiësto. Her songs have been featured in film and TV, including Disney's trailer for Frozen.

VASSY joins an esteemed list of recipients: Nat Dunn (for MARSHMELLO’S ‘Friends’), Dean Lewis and Jon Hume (for ‘Be Alright’), Flume (for ‘Never Be Like You’), Jake Mason, Ivan Khatchoyan, and Lance Ferguson (for Cookin’ On 3 Burners ‘This Girl’), Starley and P-Money (for ‘Call On Me’), Troye Sivan and Alex Hope (for ‘Youth’), and Tones And I (for ‘Dance Monkey’), 5 Seconds of Summer (for 'Youngblood'), Georgi Kay, Ivan Gough, Aden Forte and Josh Soon (for 'In My Mind'), Vance Joy (for 'Riptide'), Gotye (for 'Somebody That I Used to Know') and more including Sia, Joel Little, and Sarah Aarons for multiple works.

The 1,000,000,000 List takes into account streaming numbers from major services Spotify, Apple Music and YouTube. It is the first award of its kind to recognise a songwriter’s achievement.

David Guetta & Showtek - Bad ft. VASSY