Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

2022 Screen Music Awards nominees revealed

Media Published Thursday 13 October 2022
2022 Screen Music Awards nominees Caitlin Yeo, Piers Burbrook de Vere and Brett Aplin

Caitlin Yeo, Brett Aplin and Piers Burbrook de Vere lead the pack.

Other nominees include Missy Higgins, Kate Miller-Heidke, William Barton and Josh Pyke

APRA AMCOS and the Australian Guild of Screen Composers (AGSC) are thrilled to announce the nominees for the 2022 Screen Music Awards.

The nominees have created memorable music accompaniments spanning 12 categories including documentary, short film, children’s programming, advertising, soundtrack albums and feature films.

Composer Caitlin Yeo leads the nominee list with five nods for her work across multiple categories. Caitlin is recognised in Best Music for a Documentary along with co-composer Andrew Scott for Ms Represented with Annabel Crabb. Caitlin’s work appears twice in Best Television Theme for The PM’s Daughter (along with co-composer Basil Hogios) and for her work on the acclaimed SBS drama mini-series New Gold Mountain, which has also landed Caitlin nominations for Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie and Best Soundtrack Album.

Brett Aplin is a three-time nominee in 2022, with The Bureau of Magical Things nominated for Best Music for Children’s Programming. In a change of pace, his work on the Stan original No Mercy, No Response sees him acknowledged for Best Music for a Documentary and Best Soundtrack Album.

Blue Mountains-based composer Piers Burbrook de Vere has also scored a nominations hat trick. He appears in the category of Best Soundtrack Album twice – for comedy-drama Wolf Like Me and for River with co-composers William Barton and Richard Tognetti. The musical partnership of Tognetti, Barton and Burbrook de Vere is acknowledged again in Best Original Song Composed for the Screen for Spirit Voice of the Enchanted Waters from River, which explores the remarkable relationship between humans and rivers.

His two nominations for River mark composer, producer, multi-instrumentalist, vocalist and leading didgeridoo player William Barton’s Screen Music Awards debut. He is joined by a fresh collection of first-time nominees including Sophia Christopher, Lance Gurisik, Joshua Pearson, Nicholas Routledge, Andrew Scott, Joseph Twist, Wil Hughes and Salliana Seven Campbell, who in her first screen composition outing has landed in the Feature Film Score of the Year category for The Drover’s Wife: The Legend of Molly Johnson.

Rounding out Feature Film Score of the Year is 2021 winner Brian Cachia for Bosch and Rockit. Michael Lira is nominated for Interceptor, which was a Top 10 Netflix streaming hit in 93 countries on release, while Angela Little is recognised for her delightful work on the heartwarming film A Stitch in Time.

Angela is one of several nominees who have received dual nods for the 2022 Awards. Others are Nerida Tyson Chew, Amanda Brown, Matteo Zingales, Adam Gock, Dinesh Wicks and Jackson Milas. The nominees list also features well-known pop composers Missy Higgins, Kate Miller-Heidke, Keir Nuttall and Josh Pyke.

View the full list of nominees