Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

2023 APRA Professional Development Awards winners announced

Media Published Thursday 15 June 2023
Congrats to all of the Professional Development Award 2023 winners. Pictured (top row L-R): Angeline Armstrong, Elizabeth M. Drummond, Georgia Delves, Luna Pan, Andrew Gurruwiwi. Bottom row - Vidya Makan. Photo credit: Maria Boyadgis

The winners of the 2023 Professional Development Awards (PDAs) have been announced, including Jem Cassar-Daley, Angeline Armstrong (Telenova), Andrew Gurruwiwi and Sophie Min.

The PDAs provide $10,000 to developing songwriters & composers across multiple genres.

A dynamic group of Australian songwriters and composers have been announced as the recipients of the 2023 APRA Professional Development Awards (PDAs).

The APRA PDAs, a game-changing initiative presented by APRA AMCOS and NATSIMO (National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Music Office) are an annual honour that exist to provide impactful support for emerging songwriters and composers across a range of genres by providing a $10,000 cash prize at a pivotal stage in their respective careers.

The 2023 PDAs showcase music creators across multiple disciplines, from Telenova’s Angeline Armstrong for popular contemporary, to pianist, composer and improviser Sophie Min, screen composer Luna Pan, Country & Americana artist Georgia Delves (Georgia State Line) and music theatre honouree Vidya Makan.

For the first time in 2023, NATSIMO honours three Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander songwriters:

Yirrmal (NATSIMO General), Jem Cassar-Daley (NATSIMO Youth) and Andrew Gurruwiwi (NATSIMO Senior), who performed with his band at today’s announcement.

“We are very proud to support the next chapter for the three inaugural NATSIMO PDA category winners: Yirrmal, Jem Cassar-Daley and Andrew Gurruwiwi. While each winner is at a different career and life stage, they are all on the cusp of an exciting next step in their songwriting and artistry,” said Leah Flanagan, Director, NATSIMO

“The NATSIMO created these categories to reflect the diversity of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander music creator members and the professional strides they make in their own unique way. We are particularly proud to be able to recognise and award our senior songwriters who are admired and active contributors to the Australian musical and cultural landscape.”

Congratulations to the 2023 PDA recipients:

  • Andrea Guterres Classical/ Experimental
  • Georgia Delves (Georgia State Line) Country/ Americana
  • Alex Hosking – Dance/ Electronic
  • Soli Hip Hop/ Rap/ R&B/ Soul
  • Sophie Min – Jazz/ Improvised
  • Vidya Makan – LIGHT - Music Theatre
  • Angeline Armstrong (Telenova) Popular Contemporary
  • Elizabeth M. Drummond – Popular Contemporary
  • Luna Pan Screen Composition
  • Yirrmal NATSIMO (General)
  • Jem Cassar-Daley – NATSIMO (Youth)
  • Andrew Gurruwiwi – NATSIMO (Senior)

A panel of judges comprising Jenny Morris, Ngaiire, Lance Ferguson, John Ferris, Neil Gooding, Mindy Meng Wang, Joel Ma, Sosefina Fuamoli, Fanny Lumsden, Jeremy Marou, Dave Ruby Howe, Nina Las Vegas and more have determined these impressive recipients who will each take home $10,000 cash as well as a prize from Australis Music.

A playlist featuring the work of all PDAs finalists is available on Spotify and Apple Music.