Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

2023 Screen Music Awards to take place at The Forum, Melbourne

Media Published Tuesday 12 September 2023
Susie Youssef

Susie Youssef to host Screen Music Awards in Melbourne/ Naarm on Thursday 9 November 2023, with Erkki Veltheim as Musical Director.

Nominees announced on Thursday 5 October 2023 across the 13 award categories.

and the Australian Guild of Screen Composers (AGSC) return to Melbourne/Naarm for the Screen Music Awards for the industry’s annual celebration of the champions of screen music composition. Featuring the presentation of thirteen awards, including the prestigious Distinguished Services to the Australian Screen Award, the event will be held on Thursday November 9 at Forum Melbourne.

Hosting the awards for the first time is comedian, actor, writer, and improviser Susie Youssef. A television and theatre all-rounder, on stage Susie most recently played Trinculo in the STC’s acclaimed production of The Tempest. She is a regular co-host on Network 10’s The Project and The Sunday Project and has co-hosted the Australian of the Year ceremony (ABC TV) for the last three years. Susie most recently appeared as the mayor on the hit series Deadloch, which reached the top 10 globally on Prime Video, where it is currently streaming in 240 countries.

The ceremony will feature interpretations of the four Feature Film Score of the Year nominations performed live by the Screen Awards orchestra, led by the event’s brand-new Musical Director Erkki Veltheim. Erkki has performed with the Australian Art Orchestra, Australian Chamber Orchestra, Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, Elision and Ensemble Modern and Ensemble musikFabrik, and has played with many musicians including Chris Abrahams, William Barton, Cat Power, Clocked Out, Brett Dean, Robin Fox, Paul Grabowsky and Shane Howard.

Panels of widely respected Australian screen composers will determine four nominees for 10 categories. The winners of Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia and Most Performed Screen Composer – Overseas are decided through analysis of performance activity reflected by royalty earnings.

The Distinguished Services to the Australian Screen Award (as determined by the APRA Board of Directors) will be announced prior to the awards. Previous recipients include Martin Armiger, Robert Connolly, Nerida Tyson-Chew, and the 2022 recipient Nigel Westlake.

The nominees for the 2023 Screen Music Awards will be announced on Thursday 5 October.

Please see complete list of categories below.


  • Best Music for an Advertisement
  • Best Music for Children’s Programming
  • Best Music for a Documentary
  • Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie
  • Best Music for a Short Film
  • Best Music for a Television Series or Serial
  • Best Television Theme
  • Best Original Song Composed for the Screen
  • Best Soundtrack Album
  • Feature Film Score of the Year
  • Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia*
  • Most Performed Screen Composer – Overseas*
  • Distinguished Services to the Australian Screen^

* Determined by statistical analysis
^ Awarded at the discretion of the APRA Board of Directors