Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

Aussies and Kiwis figure in to 2024 Grammy Award nominations

Story Published Friday 17 November 2023
Top row l-r: Aaron Short, Alex Hope, Ashton Sellars, Ben Fielding, Dom Dolla, Keanu Beats, The Kid Laroi 2nd from top l-r: Kito, Kylie Minogue, Kyson, Lipless, Mali-Koa Hood, Mitch Wong 2nd from bottom l-r: Montaigne, Reuben Morgan, Sarah Aarons, Sia, Sophie Hutchings, Styalz Fuego, Tame Impala Bottom row l-r: Tkay Maidza, Tommy Emmanuel, Tripod, Troye Sivan

Keanu Beats, Sarah Aarons and Sia nominated for their work on ‘Album of the Year’

Inaugural ‘Best Pop Dance Recording’ category features Kylie Minogue and Troye Sivan

We spotlight the credits for Taylor Swift, Miley Cyrus, Drake & 21 Savage, Gorillaz and more.

We've taken a deep dive into this year's Grammy nominations and once again the research team has come up with Aussie and Kiwi gold.

Twenty-six APRA AMCOS members factor in to the 2024 Grammy Awards as nominees and/or contributors - spanning the categories of Album of the Year, rap, pop, electronic, jazz, gospel, country, games and beyond. There are 94 Grammys categories in total.

The nominees

In the Album of the Year category, Taylor Swift’s Midnights includes a nod for Melbourne’s  Keanu Beats, a writer and producer on ‘Karma’, which peaked at #2 on the Billboard Hot 100 in June. Midnights is also in contention for Best Pop Vocal Album and Taylor and Ice Spice are up for Best Pop Duo/Group Performance for ‘Karma’.

Miley Cyrus’ Endless Summer Vacation is also nominated for Album of the Year, and it includes the one-and-only Sia as a songwriter and featured artist on ‘Muddy Feet’ and 'Violet Chemistry' and Sarah Aarons for co-writing ‘Jaded’ with Miley and Greg Kurstin. Endless Summer Vacation is also nominated for Best Pop Vocal Album.

Aussie pop royalty goes head-to-head in the inaugural Best Pop Dance Recording category with Kylie Minogue’s ‘Padam Padam’ and Troye Sivan’s ‘Rush’ both nominated, as well as Troye’s collaborator Styalz Fuego. The saucy film clip for ‘Rush’ is also in the running for Best Music Video.

The Barbie The Album compilation is nominated for ‘Best Compilation Soundtrack for Visual Media’, where both Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker and The Kid LAROI are up for an award, for the songs ‘Journey To The Real World’ and ‘Forever & Again’ respectively.

ARIA winner Dom Dolla grabs his first Grammy nomination for Best Remixed Recording for his work on Gorillaz’ ‘New Gold (feat. Tame Impala and Bootie Brown)'. Of course, the Tame Impala feature means a Kevin Parker songwriting credit for ‘New Gold’ on Gorillaz’ Cracker Island LP, which is nominated for Best Alternative Music Album.

Guitar powerhouse Tommy Emmanuel is nominated in the Best Arrangement, Instrumental or A Capella category for his version Johnny Cash’s classic ‘Folsom Prison Blues’, along with LA’s The String Revolution.

Montaigne and Tripod’s Scott Edgar, Simon Hall and Steven Gates are nominated, along with American composer Austin Wintory, for Best Score Soundtrack for Video Games and Other Interactive Media for Stray Gods: The Roleplaying Musical. Following the game’s August release by Melbourne indie Summerfall Studios, GamesHub raved, “Everything from the emotional voice acting performances (from a legendary cast) to the ambient score and songwriting from Austin Wintory, Montaigne, and Tripod deserves to be recognised.”

New Zealand’s Aaron Short, formerly of The Naked and Famous, is a nominated mix engineer in the Best Immersive Audio Album category for his work on Madison Beer’s album Silence Between Songs.

Kylie Minogue - Padam Padam

Troye Sivan - Rush

Karma - Taylor Swift

The contributors

Hitmaker Alex Hope contributed writing credits on Kelly Clarkson’s track ‘my mistake’ from her album Chemistry, which is nominated for Best Pop Vocal Album.

AR/CO’s Mali-Koa Hood and Lipless’ Steve Mits both contributed to Kx5’s self-titled album, nominated for Best Dance/Electronic Music Album. Hood and Mits both have writing and production credits on ‘Bright Lights’, with Hood also performing. Mits has additional writing and production credits across the album.

Electronic producer and songwriter Kito contributed to Skrillex’s album Quest For Fire, which was nominated for Best Dance/ Electronic Music Album. Kito performed on and co-wrote the track ‘Inhale Exhale’.

Songwriter, artist and producer Kyson contributed to Drake & 21 Savage’s Best Rap Album nominee Her Loss, with a credit on ‘More M’s’. On the album's November 2022 release, all 16 songs from Her Loss debuted inside the top 40 of Billboard’s Hot 100.

Tkay Maidza contributed to legendary producer, artist and songwriter Babyface’s Girls Night Out LP, which is nominated for Best R&B Album. Tkay has writing and performance credits on the track ‘G Wagon’.

Composer and pianist Sophie Hutchings performs on the sublime ‘Still/Sound’ from Ólafur ArnaldsSome Kind Of Peace (Piano Reworks), which is nominated for Best New Age, Ambient, or Chant Album.

Mitch Wong’s name appears on the credits of some of Gospel’s most acclaimed albums and here he is again, with a songwriting credit on Maverick City Music’sCostly’, from The Maverick Way, which is nominated for Best Gospel Album.

2018 Grammy winner Ben Fielding also has credits on The Maverick Way, for his co-writing on track ‘More Than Able’. Fielding has additional writing credits ‘Goodness of God’ from Tye Tribbett’s All Things New: Live in Orlando, also nominated for Best Gospel Album.

Reuben Morgan and Fielding are also co-writers on ‘Back to Life’ from Phil Wickham’s album I Believe, which is nominated for Best Contemporary Christian Music Album. No strangers to the podium, the two writers won the prestigious Song of the Year at BMI's Christian Awards in 2020 for ‘Who You Say I Am.’

Aotearoa member Ashton Sellars has co-write and co-production credits on Nigerian superstar Burna Boy’sThanks’ and ‘On Form’, from the album I Told Them...This record is being nominated for Best Global Music Album. He was a co-writer on Burna Boy's 2023 Grammy-nominated album Love, Damini as well.

The Grammys take place 5 February 2024 at 12pm AEDT

Kx5 - Bright Lights (feat. AR/CO)

Skrillex, Aluna & Kito - Inhale Exhale

Maverick City Music - More Than Able