Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

Grammys 2021 deep dive: Aussie and Kiwi nominees and contributors

Media Published Friday 27 November 2020
Some of the Aussie & New Zealand songwriters that have contributed to 2021 Grammy nominations, including Tame Impala, Kimbra and Flume

The 2021 Grammys take place in Los Angeles on 31 January (local time)

16 Australian or New Zealand songwriters/groups have either been nominated or have contributed to nominated works

Read Grammy 2021 facts

Last year's nominee round up

Australian and New Zealand music creators once again collected prestigious nominations and made key contributions to nominated works across the 83 Grammy categories. Congratulations to all who played a part!

The nominees

On the morning before the night that Kevin Parker won five ARIAs for Tame Impala'sThe Slow Rush, he received two Grammy nominations: Best Alternative Album for The Slow Rush and Best Rock Song for the single 'Lost In Yesterday.'

A two-time APRA Song of the Year winner Kevin solely wrote, performed, produced and mixed the album, which debuted at number three on the Billboard 200 album chart in February. It was Tame Impala's highest chart entry to date.

Grammy-winner Flume is a regular in the Dance/Electronic category and picked up a nomination for Best Dance Recording for The Difference, the Toro y Moi collaboration that he produced and mixed by Eric J Dubrowsky.

The renowned Tibetan-born Brisbane-based artist, singer, composer, activist and musical director Tenzin Choegyal has performed at festivals throughout the world and is a nominee in the Best New Age Album category for Songs from the Bardo. He collaborated with multi-media artist Laurie Anderson and composer Jesse ParisSmith on a very personal album of mourning.

"The album’s songs flow into one another with little regard for beginnings or endings, just as TheBardo Thodol describes the journey of the consciousness through death to the next life," wrote Pitchfork.

Musical group Hillsong Young & Free are nominated for Best Contemporary Christian Music Album for All of My Best Friends. A true collaborative effort, songwriters include Benjamin Hastings, Aodhan King, Benjamin Tan, Karina Wykes, Matthew Crocker, Michael Fatkin, Melodie Wagner-Mäkinen, Jack McGrath, Hannah Hobbs and Renee Sieff.

The contributors

Take a closer look at the credits at those who co-wrote and played other key creative roles in nominated works.

Karnivool's Drew Goddard played on and was a co-writer on the song 'Arabesque' from Coldplay'sEveryday Life, nominated for Album of the Year.

Kimbra is writer and featured performer on 'In My Bones' from Jacob Collier'sDjesse VOL.3, nominated for Album of the Year.

Dua Lipa's cathartic anthem 'Break My Heart' includes a songwriting assist with a sample from INXS' 'Need You Tonight', with the late Michael Hutchence and Andrew Farriss as credited songwriters. The single is on Dua's Album of the Year nominee Future Nostalgia.

Melbourne songwriter Mitch Wong is a songwriter on 'Death of Death' from Best Contemporary Christian Music Album nominee Run to the Father by Cody Carnes.

New Zealand's Ruban Nielson of Unknown Mortal Orchestra is a collaborator on the Free Nationals self-titled album, nominated for Best Progressive R&B Album. He is a writer and UMO is featured on the song 'Beauty & Essex.'

John Legend's Bigger Love is nominated for Best R&B Album, with a songwriting credit to Mike Waters on 'U Move, I Move.'

Also on Songs from the Bardo are songwriting credits for Matthew Flindell and Marcello Milani on 'Jigten.'

Grammy-winning engineer and producer Chris O'Ryan, professionally known as TEK, is engineer on a number of Justin Bieber works, including Best Pop Vocal Album nominee Changes:

  • Best Pop Vocal Album - Changes
  • Best Pop Duo/Group Performance - Justin Bieber ft. Quavo - 'Intentions'
  • Best Pop Solo Performance - 'Yummy'
  • Best Country Duo/Group Performance - Dan + Shay & Justin Bieber - '10,000 Hours'

Best New Artist nominee Noah Cyrus collaborated with acclaimed songwriter/producers Thief (Peter Harding), Tushar Apte and M-Phazes on her EP The End of Everything.

Congrats to all!