Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

2022 APRA Professional Development Awards winners Announced

Media Published Thursday 3 March 2022
Top L to R: Beckah Amani, BRUX, Brittanie Shipway, Kitty Xiao, Baker Boy. Bottom L to R: Melanie Dyer, Georgia Potter, Michael Drew, Tiana Khasi, Rafael Karlen.

The winners of the 2022 Professional Development Awards (PDAs) have been announced, including Beckah Amani, Melanie Dyer & Tiana Khasi.

Danzal Baker (pka Baker Boy) wins the Smuggles of Light Foundation Music and Media Award

The PDAs provide $10,000 to developing songwriters & composers across multiple genres

A dynamic group of Australian songwriters and composers have been announced as the recipients of the 2022 APRA AMCOS PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT AWARDS (PDAs).

The APRA AMCOS PDAs are an annual honour that exist to support developing songwriters and composers across a range of genres by providing a $10,000 cash award at a pivotal stage in their respective careers.

The 2022 APRA AMCOS PDAs showcase music creators across multiple disciplines, from soul artist Tiana Khasi to composer and saxophonist Rafael Karlen, screen composer Michael Drew, country-pop artist Melanie Dyer and Music Theatre honouree Brittanie Shipway.

Congratulations to the 2022 PDA recipients:

  • Beckah Amani – Popular Contemporary
  • Georgia Potter pka Moreton – Popular Contemporary
  • Kitty Xiao - Classical / Experimental
  • Melanie Dyer – Country / Americana
  • Liz Maniscalco pka BRUX – Dance / Electronic
  • Michael Drew – Film and Television / Gaming
  • Tiana Khasi – Hip Hop / Rap / R&B / Soul
  • Rafael Karlen - Jazz / Improvised Music
  • Brittanie Shipway Yellow Rock – A Gumbaynggirr Song Circle – Music Theatre
  • Danzal Baker pka Baker Boy – Smugglers of Light Music and Media Award

See below for bio information on the recipients.

The Professional Development Awards support our members by recognising their talent as well as investing in it. Over the past two years, many of our members have had their livelihoods, professional opportunities and creative development hampered due to the pandemic, and yet they continue to pursue their goals and innovate to share their output. APRA AMCOS is proud to back our members with this special award,” said APRA AMCOS Chief Executive Dean Ormston.

Each winner is awarded a $10,000 cash prize as well as a prize from Australis Music ranging from an Epiphone Casino Coupe guitar to a Behringer POLY-D Synth.

Rapper, actor and dancer Baker Boy, has been named the recipient of the $12,000 Music and Media Award grant from the Smugglers of Light, a foundation set up by Australian composer and conductor Nigel Westlake in memory of his son Eli Westlake.

A panel of judges comprising Jenny Morris, Dave Ruby Howe, Yve Blake, Brooke McClymont, Adalita, Pip Norman, Nina Las Vegas, Joel Ma, John Ferris and more have determined the impressive winners.

Previous PDA winners include Briggs, Morgan Evans, Mo’Ju, Julian Jacklin, Gordi and Jess Hitchcock.

Winner images are available to download.

A playlist featuring the work of all PDAs finalists is available on Spotify and Apple Music.