Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

Indigenous talent shines at RESONATE 2024

Media Published Tuesday 28 May 2024
Front row L-R: Leah Flanagan, Zipporah Corser-Anu, Nathaniel Andrew, Clover Hersant. Back row L-R: Luke Daniel Peacock, Dominik Felsmann (4000 Studios), Chris Tamwoy, Connor McLeod (Hylander), ChillCheney, Jada Weazel, Jarred Wall (Boox Kid), Canisha Jane Clemmet-Kennedy (CANISHA), Jono Stier (Eskatology), Madi Colville Walker, Dirk Kelly, MARLON, Noema Te Hau III, Athol Munro, Blake Malone (4000 Studios). Photo: Darcy Goss 

Cloe Terare, Marlon, CANISHA, HYLANDER and more are RESONATE’s class of 2024

Joining in the studio are Jada Weazel, Chris Tamwoy and Boox Kid, with Noema Te Hau II from Aotearoa/New Zealand joins as Guest Producer

Now in its fourth year, RESONATE is taking place at 4000 Studios Meanjin/ Brisbane

The National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Music Office (NATSIMO) has kicked off its three-day signature in-person songwriting camp RESONATE today at 4000 Studios in Meanjin/ Brisbane. RESONATE brings together top Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander songwriters, music producers and artists from across the country to collaborate on writing and recording new music.

Now in its fourth year, participants working hard in the studio include Naarm-based soul singer CANISHA, emerging Toowoomba-based dark pop artist Cloe Terare, Gadigal electronic artist HYLANDER, Wurrumungu audio engineer, producer and composer Dirk Kelly, rapper ChillCheney, Yorta Yorta singer-songwriter Madi Colville Walker, Darwin rapper MARLON, Zipporah Corser-Anu (performance name Zipporah), pop-rock artist Luke Daniel Peacock, guitar virtuoso Chris Tamwoy, R&B artist Jada Weazel, indie-pop’s Jarred Wall - who performs as Boox Kid, and Jono Stier aka Eskatology.

The selected crop of artists at this year’s RESONATE not only highlights the tenacity of Australia’s Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists, but also the diversity across Indigenous Australia.

International guest producer Noema Te Hau III from Aotearoa/New Zealand also joins this year’s stellar programming to share his unique skills and expertise.

Leah Flanagan, NATSIMO Director: “The NATSIMO is committed to fostering an inclusive studio environment where Indigenous music creators can learn and thrive through collaboration and shared inspiration. It’s truly inspiring to witness the enthusiasm and passion within our Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander music-creator community as they come together to create new music. A goal of RESONATE is to empower our members with the tools and connections they need to succeed in the competitive music industry landscape. RESONATE celebrates our unique cultural voices by establishing powerful connections between our members and the wider music community.”

Dominik Felsmann, 4000 Studios: “We’re super excited to be hosting RESONATE at 4000 Studios this year. We started this studio with the vision to provide a welcoming space that brings together music industry professionals from all backgrounds. Being able to provide the facilities for and collaborate with RESONATE is a huge privilege and proof that Meanjin can offer something truly special to the Australian music scene.”

The NATSIMO is elated about this year’s RESONATE program and can’t wait to hear the tracks that are created.

Scores of blockbusting tracks have been created at RESONATE. At 2022’s camp, Jem Cassar-Daley penned her AIR Awards Independent Track of the Year-nominated track ‘King of Disappointment’ with fellow participant Brendan Boney. The song has garnered over 3 million streams on Spotify alone. Also written at that camp was Boox Kid’s ‘Talking to Myself’, co-written with Candace Lorrae and Cloe Terare. Sue Ray’s ‘Walking These Streets’ was co-written with MOSS and Tia Gostelow at last year’s RESONATE. Gostelow also co-wrote 3%’s ‘Sleezy, Steezy, Cool’ at the camp.

RESONATE 28 - 30 May 2024


Canisha Jane Clemmet-Kennedy aka CANISHA
Chris Tamwoy
Connor McLeod aka Hylander
Dirk Kelly
Jada Weazel
Jarred Wall aka Boox Kid
Jono Stier aka Eskatology
Lance Cheney aka ChillCheney
Madi Colville Walker
Marlon Motlop aka MARLON
Cloe Terare
Zipporah Corser-Anu aka Zipporah
Luke Daniel Peacock

International Guest Producer:

Noema Te Hau III

Songs penned at RESONATE: