Not a member yet? Join APRA AMCOS

Already started a Writer Member application? Continue

Ted Albert Award honours for Bart Willoughby

Media Published Thursday 18 April 2024
Bart Willoughby to receive the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music

Bart Willoughby to receive the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music

Performers for APRA Music Awards announced!

APRA AMCOS is proud to announce trailblazing drummer, songwriter, singer, actor, educator and artist Bart Willoughby as the recipient of the 2024 Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music.

As a founding member, Kokatha and Mirning man Willoughby was the driving force behind No Fixed Address, Australia's first and arguably most influential First Nations reggae-rock band. They etched their place in history as the first Aboriginal band to secure a major label deal, were championed by Tina Turner and shared stages with icons such as The Clash, Ian Dury, Peter Tosh, and Cold Chisel. Their anthem of resilience, We Have Survived, which still resonates profoundly, is enshrined in the National Film and Sound Archive of Australia. Willoughby’s fusion of reggae with traditional Indigenous influences is a testament to the richness and diversity of Australia’s original cultural identity. His illustrious career has garnered numerous accolades, yet his influence transcends music, encompassing roles as a cultural ambassador, a master storyteller, a nurturing mentor, and a steadfast advocate for truth within Indigenous communities nationwide.

Bart Willoughby said, “I am very proud to receive the Ted Albert Award for my services to Australian Music. The best advice I received as a young musician was from Aunty Leila Rankin at CASM whilst I was preoccupied practising; she kindly opened the door and forced me out telling me ‘I’ll learn my craft on the road, it’s been a Long Road.’ Compassion. I am something else now. All you have to do is put the black bits and the white bits together. I’m on a road of destiny. I wake up as it starts to begin. That’s when you know you’re riding the wave. It’s part of destiny. That’s when you know you’ve found what you’ve looking for.”

With a manifesto that’s as infectious as it is irresistible, alt-electronic music outfit Haiku Hands will perform at the 2024 APRA Music Awards. Also joining the performance line-up is dynamic 6-piece band, Sweet Talk, known for infusing their music with vintage influences and redefining them into something uniquely their own. With their rough and tumble brand of jangling rock and roll, Adelaide band Bad//Dreems will hit the stage off the back of fourth album Hoo Ha!. Stepping onto the Awards stage for the first time is Ashli, whose acclaimed EP Only One not only marked her debut but also garnered her a nomination for Best Independent Soul/R&B Album or EP at the 2023 AIR Awards. Independent global music powerhouse Cub Sport will bring their pop classicism and joyous energy to the APRA stage off the back of their ground-breaking album Jesus at the Gay Bar.

The 2024 Licensee of the Year is the Australian Calisthenic Federation (ACF). The award acknowledges and rewards the contribution of licensees to our members as good music citizens. The ACF (whose job it is to develop, administer and co-ordinate the unique Australian sport of Calisthenics) actively promotes OneMusic to their members, including the importance of ensuring composers are paid when their music is used.

Taylor Swift and co-writer Jack Antonoff have taken out Most Performed International Work for Anti-Hero, the smash hit lead single from her tenth studio album, Midnights.

The 2024 APRA Music Awards will take place on Wed 1 May at ICC Sydney, Gadigal land with host Tom Gleeson, guest presenters Jen Cloher and Bumpy, and Musical Director Julian Hamilton.

Most Performed International Work

Title: Anti-Hero
Artist: Taylor Swift
Writers: Taylor Swift / Jack Antonoff*
Publishers: Universal/MCA Music Publishing / Sony Music Publishing*

Wednesday 1 May
ICC Sydney, Gadigal land
With host Tom Gleeson and guest presenters Jen Cloher and Bumpy
And Musical Director Julian Hamilton

Stream the 2024 APRA Music Awards nominees playlist:

Apple Music

Watch Bart Willoughby react to the Ted Albert announcement.